Historically Big Unit of Hall of Famers

For the first time since 1955, four players were selected as baseball Hall of Fame inductees in the class of 2015.

Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz and Craig Biggio all got more than the required 75 percent of votes. Johnson, Martinez and Smoltz, all dominant pitchers from the steroid era, were inducted on their first tries. Biggio had failed twice before, falling short by just two votes last year.

534 of 549 ballots by veteran members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America selected Johnson, a five-time Cy Young Award winner with 303 victories (22nd all-time) and 4,875 strikeouts (second all-time).  His 97.3 percentage was the eighth highest in the history of voting.

Martinez, a three-time Cy Young winner, appeared on 500 ballots (91.1 percent). He led Major League Baseball in ERA five times and in 2004 helped the Boston Red Sox to their first World Series title in 86 years.

Smoltz was picked on 455 ballots (82.9 percent) and will join former Atlanta teammates Greg Maddux and Tom Glavine, who were inducted last summer. Smoltz, the 1996 NL Cy Young winner, was 213-155 with 154 saves, the only pitcher with 200 wins and 150 saves. He had a remarkable 15-4 record in the postseason.

Biggio appeared on 454 ballots, 42 more than the 75 percent needed. He had 3,060 hits (20th all-time) in 20 seasons, all with the Houston Astros.

The foursome will be inducted in Cooperstown on July 26.