The Independent

Sixth Annual Leadership Recognition Banquet

Jacklyn Nowotnik, Arts & Life Editor

April 27, 2012

      On April 18, 2012, NEIU held its annual Leadership Recognition Banquet in Alumni Hall from 5pm to 7pm. According to Vice President of Student Affairs, Dr. Frank Ross, this was a time to “celebrate the achievements of organizational leaders, staff and advisors.” The evening started out with a slide show of pictures from throughout the year of activities and events that students in various Student Leadership Development programs participated in. Afterwards, recognition was given to the Freshmen Leadership Institute, the Alternative Spring Break Trip leaders and to the Advancing Leadership Recognition Program. Following that, individual and group awards were given to the winners of each category. However, one statement made by SGA Vice President, Jessica Dominguez rang true, “ win or lose, you make this university what it is.” Recipients of the group and individual awards: Blue and Gold--Sociology Club Soaring Eagle-- Omega Delta Phi Fraternity NRichment-- SEEDS Literary Journal Trailblazer--URO Golden Eagle--Janean Watkins Legacy--Daphne Kozlowski Sheena L. Glover Service Award- -Ahriel Mullings Indelible Mark-- Sarator Whitehead Wilson Media Award—Emily Haddad  ...

Northeastern Illinois University's student-run newspaper